Newbie needs info ?

Anything and everything related to ammunition can be posted here.

Moderator: ripjack13

Copper BB
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:04 pm
I just recently inherited a Ithaca 600 O/U. Beautiful firearm! I am new to this. My question is, my primary purpose is to skeet/trap shoot, will this gun accept 2.75" shells as well as the 20ga 3" shells recommended on the barrel?

If so, any recommendations on brand and type?

Also barrel is stamped FULL MOD

Is this typical for this gun?

Let's start there, I'm sure I'll have more later

.270 WIN
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:09 am
That is a really nice gun. It is a 20 gauge? They are fairly rare. If it says 3" on the barrel then it is fine for both 2.75 and 3". Is the receiver silver color? Most 600s are. Nice engraving. The barrels are black chrome on the outside and silver chrome on the inside. They don't rust as quick, don't get finger print marks and withstand scratching a little more. The selective trigger is a great thing. Select which barrel you wish to fire first and the recoil sets the next barrel. Is the safety auto on your gun? The 600 Trap, the safety does not automatically reset itself with opening the gun. Make sure the butt stock is tight to the receiver so it doesn't crack. Any ammo should work, just find something that you like for the use you have for the gun. Enjoy your Ithaca. Donald.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:03 am
Welcome to the Ithaca Owners Forum Pete !!

Congrats on the new Ithaca...

Copper BB
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:11 pm